Re-Purposed Meatloaf

The title doesn’t sound too appealing, doesn’t it?  But, I have no other way to describe what I did last night with leftover meatloaf.

Backstory: we make meatloaf two ways in our house – my way, which is quick and easy and hubs’ way which is, well, a lot more involved.  But…a LOT more flavorful.  He makes this delicious stuffing with white bread, carrots, celery, pignoli nuts and spices that gets folded into the meatloaf mixture.  It normally turns out wonderful, except he forgot the egg(s) this time.  As you can guess, the meatloaf didn’t hold very well.  Still, delicious thought.

Scraping what remained from the loaf pan proved fruitless and the loaf was now mush.  As I made my meal plan for the week, I had noticed red bell peppers sitting on the shelf that I had purchased the week before when they were on sale for $.99/lb (normally, they’re $2.49/b).  Okay, great – I can make stuffed peppers with the classic beef and rice mixture until I remembered……..the meatmush, erm…..meatloaf I had from last week.  What if…..what if……?

Ladies and gents, I bring you meatloaf stuffed peppers!

The best part of this recipe – I had ALL ingredients on hand.  In fact, my supper plan for the week of 8/31/15 – 9/6/15 (see photo link above) includes recipes for which I had everything already on hand.  No additional shopping.  Wow – I was stoked.

But I digress.

Because a good part of the work had already been done (meatmush), all I had to do was halve/seed peppers and place on a lightly oiled cookie sheet (cut side down) and place in a 350 degree oven for about 20-30 min to soften slightly and carmelize the edges  (can you see that nice, flavorful blackened edges above??).

image

While they were in the oven, I crumbled up the meatmush (I really didn’t have to work too hard to do that!) and added to a pan with a tbsp. of olive oil.  I sautéed it for around 10 minutes then added about a cup of frozen corn, a can of diced tomatoes (possibly my most favorite pantry staple, like….ever!) and a cup and a half of cooked rice (which I had already cooked in a small pan).

image

Once the peppers were nice and done, I removed from the oven, turned them over and filled with the mixture.  Of course, nothing is complete until it’s topped with cheese!  A little (or a lot) of shredded mozzarella cheese.  Pop back into the already heated oven for 20 minutes.  Ready to serve. And OMG, delicious!

imageIf you have a different and delicious way of re-purposing leftovers, I’d love to know 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

