Spice Rub Ornaments

I came across this recipe on Pinterest and had saved it, thinking it would make an easy and inexpensive last minute Christmas gift.  I’m glad I did, because I decided to give it a go this year.  Most of the spices I already had on hand and the ones I didn’t I found in the dollar store.  You can follow the link to the recipe, but here are the ingredients and directions:

Here are the 14 spices and seasonings used in this recipe:

  • seasoned salt
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • sweet paprika
  • smoked paprika
  • chili powder (mild, medium, or hot)
  • celery salt
  • black pepper
  • sage
  • cumin
  • cayenne
  • allspice
  • cloves
  • mace

NOTE:  I did not have allspice or mace so they were not included in my version.  They were such small amounts that I did not think it would make too much of a difference.  The original recipe even states not to worry too much if you’re missing one of the small quantity ingredients.

There is one additional ingredient – brown sugar – which the above get added to.  You should spread it out on a cookie sheet for a few hours to dry it prior to making.

When ready, put all ingredients in a food processor and blend.  It’s that easy.

Now……what to put it in?

Purchasing a dozen small mason jars was a just a bit pricey.  I had come across several posts where I saw things such as hot cocoa mixes and bath salts packaged in clear, plastic ornaments.  I thought…..why not the spice rub?

I purchased 8 of them at Michael’s – regularly $1.99 each marked down to .59 cents.  Wow!  I got the medium sized ones which had a decent sized opening in order to use a wider funnel.  The mix isn’t as fine as salt or sugar – it does have a bit of a consistency due to the brown sugar – so it didn’t pour too well through a narrow funnel.

After I filled them, I tied on snowmen gift tags I got at the Target Dollar Spot (package of 8 for $1)  The result:

image

Aren’t they adorable? 🙂

I then typed the ingredients onto a plain, white mailing label, trimmed around the edges to fit and affixed it to the back of the tag.

Between the ornaments, tags and spices, I spent under $8 for 8 gifts (I already had mailing labels).  These make a great gift to give to a hostess, client, teacher, neighbor or even a secret Santa or grab bag gift.  Plus, they were really fun to make!

2 thoughts on “Spice Rub Ornaments

  1. […] what was priority.  It was recovery from a hectic December for which I not only embarked on making homemade, edible gifts for the first time, but also the stress of having my phone stolen. However, it also caused me to […]

  2. […] from an apple tree on our property.  I just didn’t stop there.  For Christmas, I made edible gifts which also included spicy fig chutney.  Now that I’m well supplied with Ball canning jars […]

Leave a Reply

